Three Tar Heels make first-team All-ACC

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. -- North Carolina’s frontcourt trio towered over the conference this season, using its length, talent and athleticism to swat, dunk and push the Tar Heels back to the ACC regular-season championship.

As a result, it dominated the All-ACC first team, announced Monday, as well.

Seven-footer Tyler Zeller, who averaged 16.3 points and 9.3 rebounds, was a unanimous pick by 62 voters in the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. He was joined by power forward John Henson (who averaged a double-double and led the league in blocks) and small forward Harrison Barnes, who was third in the ACC with 17.4 ppg.

Virginia forward Mike Scott and Duke freshman Austin Rivers earned the other two slots on the first team.

Barnes edged out teammate Kendall Marshall, second in the nation in assists at 9.6 per game, by two points. Marshall made second-team All-ACC.

UNC is only the second team in league history with three first-teamers, joining Duke (2002).

Individual awards will be announced Tuesday; Henson is a favorite to repeat as ACC Defensive Player of the Year, and Zeller and Scott are the top contenders for ACC Player of the Year.

Here’s the full list of the three All-ACC teams, as voted on by dues-paying members of ACSMA:

(First-team votes were worth three points, with second-team votes worth two points and third-team votes worth one point):


Tyler Zeller, North Carolina (186)

Mike Scott, Virginia (184)

John Henson, North Carolina (170)

Austin Rivers, Duke (164)

Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (153)


Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (151)

Terrell Stoglin, Maryland (131)

Michael Snaer, Florida State (127)

C.J. Leslie, NC State (99)

Erick Green, Virginia Tech (70)


Seth Curry, Duke (65)

C.J. Harris, Wake Forest (57)

Lorenzo Brown, NC State (52)

Kenny Kadji, Miami (45)

Mason Plumlee, Duke (43)

HONORABLE MENTION: Bernard James, Florida State (42); Andre Young, Clemson (35); Travis McKie, Wake Forest (26); Durand Scott, Miami (26).


John Henson, North Carolina (61)

Bernard James, Florida State (54)

Jontel Evans, Virginia (39)

Michael Snaer, Florida State (31)

Andre Young, Clemson (29)


Austin Rivers, Duke (61)

Ryan Anderson, Boston College (61)

Dorian Finney-Smith, Virginia Tech (53)

Shane Larkin, Miami (43)

Nick Faust, Maryland (41)

Robbi Pickeral can be reached at bylinerp@twitter.com. Her ballot can be found here.