Duke, NCSU will be UNC's primary partners

ACC commissioner John Swofford told reporters last month that the addition of Notre Dame would likely mean the return to two “primary partners” in men’s basketball -- meaning Duke and NC State for UNC.

That became official Wednesday.

The ACC will continue to play an 18-game conference schedule for men’s and women’s basketball with the addition of Notre Dame, the league announced, using a two-partner format.

That means that once Notre Dame joins the league, UNC will play the Blue Devils and Wolfpack home and away during the regular season. It will also play home and away games against two other teams, plus five home-only games and five away-only games to round out the final 10 conference games.

The new list of “primary partners:”

  • Boston College - Notre Dame and Syracuse

  • Clemson - Florida State and Georgia Tech

  • Duke - North Carolina and Wake Forest

  • Florida State - Clemson and Miami

  • Georgia Tech - Clemson and Notre Dame

  • Maryland - Pitt and Virginia

  • Miami - Florida State and Virginia Tech

  • North Carolina - Duke and NC State

  • NC State - North Carolina and Wake Forest

  • Notre Dame - Boston College and Georgia Tech

  • Pitt - Maryland and Syracuse

  • Syracuse - Boston College and Pitt

  • Virginia - Maryland and Virginia Tech

  • Virginia Tech - Miami and Virginia

  • Wake Forest - Duke and NC State

The ACC tournament will continue to include all league teams, but will feature three opening games on Wednesday, four games on Thursday and Friday, two semifinal matchups on Saturday and the title game on Sunday, the release stated. The top four seeds will continue to receive byes into the Friday quarterfinal round.

The 12 teams with the best RPI the previous season will represent the league in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge.