ND sweeps FBS honors, Motta a Thorpe finalists

Manti Te'o won his fifth FBS independent defensive player of the week award this season, but he was joined by a pair of Notre Dame teammates after the Irish's 30-13 win Saturday night at Oklahoma.

Quarterback Everett Golson notched the offensive honor after completing 13 of 25 passes for 177 yards and rushing for 64 yards and a touchdown, with no turnovers. Kyle Brindza picked up the special teams honor after going 3-for-4 on field goal attempts in the victory.

Golson and Brindza have each been honored twice.

Te'o was also named Monday as a semifinalist for both the Maxwell and the Bednarik awards, given to the national player of the year and the defensive player of the year, respectively. Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones is the only other player on both lists.

Zeke Motta received some recognition Monday, too, as the safety was named one of 15 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation's top defensive back. Three finalists will be named Nov. 19 and the winner will be announced Dec. 6 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, with a banquet following Feb. 5, 2013, in Oklahoma City.

Notre Dame was also honored as the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl national team of the week for the first time since 2006, following its win that year at Michigan State.