Manti Te'o one of three Heisman finalists

Manti Te'o will be in New York this weekend for the 78th Heisman Trophy ceremony, making it two years in a row that a defensive player is a finalist for college football's highest individual honor.

LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu was a finalist last year, though he made a big impact on special teams as well.

Te'o is joined by Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein.

Michigan cornerback Charles Woodson is the only defensive player to win the Heisman, in 1997, but he, too, saw time on special teams, along with wide receiver.

Te'o won the Butkus Award earlier Monday as the nation's best linebacker, and he will be in a different city each day this week for a different honor following a regular season that saw his team finish atop the rankings with a 12-0 record.

Te'o has 103 tackles, seven interceptions and two fumble recoveries for the nation's top scoring defense.

The official Heisman ceremony is 8 p.m. ET Saturday at the Best Buy Theater in Times Square.