Kelly, Eifert honored as best coach, TE

Another day, another round of awards for Notre Dame personnel.

Brian Kelly was named the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award winner Wednesday, becoming the first two-time winner of the award. Tyler Eifert was named the John Mackey Award winner as the nation's best tight end.

Kelly won the same award in 2009 following another 12-0 regular season, that one with Cincinnati. Eifert was a finalist for the Mackey Award last season but lost out to Clemson's Dwayne Allen.

On Tuesday, defensive coordinator Bob Diaco had picked up a pair of assistant coaching honors. On Monday, linebacker Manti Te'o won the Butkus Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, in addition to being named one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

Kelly will receive his coach of the year award Thursday at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fla.