Manti Te'o wins Lombardi award

Manti Te'o claimed his third national award of the week Wednesday night in Houston, as the Notre Dame linebacker was named the winner of the Rotary Lombardi Award, given to the offensive or defensive linemen (or linebacker) who best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.

Te'o won the Bednarik Award and the Nagurski Trophy two days earlier, along with being named one of three finalists for Saturday night's Heisman Trophy presentation.

Te'o is the fifth Irish player to win the Lombardi Award, joining Aaron Taylor (1993), Chris Zorich (1990), Ross Browner (1977) and Walt Patulski (1971).

The senior linebacker's travels continue this week with a trip to Orlando, Fla. for the Home Depot College Football Awards Show and an ensuing trip back to New York for the Heisman ceremony. Te'o was in New York on Tuesday for the National Football Foundation banquet, where he was one of the scholar-athletes recognized.

Te'o will also be in Newport Beach, Calif., for Sunday night's presentation of the Lott IMPACT Trophy. He is one of four finalists for the award.