Three from ND on Hall ballot

Twelve players and two coaches will be announced Tuesday as College Football Hall of Fame inductees, with three former Notre Dame players among the 77 on the ballot who are eligible.

ESPN's Rece Davis will announce the event, which takes place at 11:30 a.m. ET at the NASDAQ MarketSite in Times Square in New York.

The possible Irish inductees are:

Bob Crable, LB (1979-81): Crable was a consensus All-American in back-to-back years in 1980 and 1981, and he finished his college career as the school's all-time leader in tackles (521), the single-season school leader in tackles (187) and single-game leader in tackles (26).

Raghib Ismail, WR (1988-90): The two-time first-team All-American -- and consensus All-American in 1989 -- was the Walter Camp Player of the Year and the Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1990. He was part of the Irish's last national title team, in 1988.

Aaron Taylor, OT (1990-93): Taylor was also a two-time first-team All-American, earning consensus honors in 1992. He won the Lombardi Award in 1993 and was also named the college interior lineman of the year by the touchdown club of Columbus, Ohio.