John Mackey list includes odd Pac-10 picks

Four Pac-10 players -- sort of -- are on the watch list for the John Mackey Award, which is given annually to the nation's best tight end.

Here's the list (you can see the entire watch list here):

Joe Halahuni, Oregon State

Konrad Reuland, Stanford

Kavario Middleton, Washington

Anthony Miller, California

For one, Middleton got kicked off the Huskies. Second, Halahuni plays H-back -- Brady Camp is listed as the Beavers starting tight end. Finally, Reuland has yet to beat out Coby Fleener to be Stanford's starting tight end.

Anyway, it was good of the award to seek a Pac-10 presence for a down position in the conference this year.

The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee, and the winner will be announced on Dec. 9.