Four Pac-10 players on Hornung watch list

The new Paul Hornung Award will be given annually to the "most versatile player in major college football," and four Pac-10 players made the first, 48-man watch list.

They are:

Owen Marecic, LB-FB, Stanford

Chris Owusu, WR, Stanford

James Rodgers, WR, Oregon State

Shane Vereen, RB, California

You can view the whole list here.

From the website: "The Paul Hornung Award was created in January by the Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) with the support of Paul Hornung, a native and resident of Louisville and member of the college and pro football halls of fame. The mission of the Award is to recognize and reward versatile, high-level performers in major college football; to help preserve the legacy Paul Hornung, of one of Louisville’s native sons and sports icons; and to promote Louisville as a great sports town."

The selection committee will narrow the field to approximately 10-15 finalists at the end of the regular season in early December then will select the winner at or near the end of the bowl season in early January.