Pac-12 releases 2012 football schedule

It starts on Thursday, Aug. 30, when Northern Colorado visits Utah, and ends on Nov. 30 with the second Pac-12 championship game.

The Pac-12 -- finally! -- released its schedule on Wednesday.

First of all: Oregon is at USC on Nov. 3. So mark your calendars.

From the release:

With the new ESPN and FOX media rights agreement as well as the launch of the Pac-12 Networks in August, every Pac-12 football game will be available to fans on a national clearance, eliminating regional distribution which was prevalent in the prior broadcast arrangements. There will be 44 games on the combination of ESPN’s family of networks, Fox Broadcast and FX, while 34 games are scheduled to air on the Pac-12 Networks. Exact broadcast schedules will be determined at a later date. The new schedule will also include eight Thursday and Friday specialty dates for ESPN and FOX. Dates during the first two weeks of the nonconference schedule are still being adjusted to accommodate television commitments, but the remainder of the schedule is set.

Some notes:

  • Only UCLA (at Rice) and Washington State (at BYU) open on the opponents' home field.

  • Week 2 features four games against national powerhouses: Arizona hosts Oklahoma State, UCLA plays Nebraska in the Rose Bowl, Wisconsin visits Oregon State and Washington travels to LSU.

  • The Pac-12 Conference schedule begins Sept. 15 when Stanford and USC renew their rivalry at Stanford. Everyone else, except Washington, begins Pac-12 play the following week, including three-time defending champion Oregon, which will begin its title defense at home against Arizona on Sept. 22.

  • The Thursday night schedule will include Stanford at Washington on Sept. 27, USC at Utah on Oct. 4, Arizona State at Colorado on Oct. 11 and Oregon at Arizona State on Oct. 18.

  • The Friday games will include Washington at Cal on Nov. 2, and three rivalry games on Nov. 23, Thanksgiving weekend: Arizona State at Arizona, Utah at Colorado and Washington at Washington State.

  • Colorado will play Colorado State on Sept. 1 at Invesco Field in Denver.

  • USC will play Syracuse on Sept. 8 at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

Here's the complete schedule:

Thur., Aug. 30

Northern Colorado at Utah

Sat., Sept. 1

Toledo at Arizona

Northern Arizona at Arizona State

Hawai’i at USC

UCLA at Rice

Nevada at California

San Jose State at Stanford

Arkansas State at Oregon

Nichols State at Oregon State

San Diego State at Washington

Washington State at BYU

Colorado vs. Colorado State (1)

Sat. Sept. 8

Oklahoma State at Arizona

Illinois at Arizona State

Southern Utah at California

USC vs. Syracuse (2)

Nebraska at UCLA

Duke at Stanford

Fresno State at Oregon

Wisconsin at Oregon State

Washington at LSU

Eastern Washington at Washington State

Sacramento State at Colorado

Utah at Utah State

Sat., Sept. 15

South Carolina State at Arizona

Arizona State at Missouri

USC at Stanford

Houston at UCLA

California at Ohio State

Tennessee Tech at Oregon

Portland State at Washington

Washington State at UNLV

Colorado at Fresno State

BYU at Utah

Sat., Sept. 22

Arizona at Oregon

Utah at Arizona State

California at USC

Oregon State at UCLA

Colorado at Washington State

Thur., Sept. 27

Stanford at Washington

Sat., Sept. 29

Oregon State at Arizona

Arizona State at California

UCLA at Colorado

Oregon at Washington State

Thurs., Oct. 4

USC at Utah

Sat., Oct. 6

Arizona at Stanford

UCLA at California

Washington at Oregon

Washington State at Oregon State

Thurs., Oct. 11

Arizona State at Colorado

Sat., Oct. 13

USC at Washington

Utah at UCLA

California at Washington State

Stanford at Notre Dame

Oregon State at BYU

Thurs., Oct. 18

Oregon at Arizona State

Sat., Oct. 20

Washington at Arizona

Colorado at USC

Stanford at California

Utah at Oregon State

Sat., Oct. 27

USC at Arizona

UCLA at Arizona State

California at Utah

Washington State at Stanford

Colorado at Oregon

Oregon State at Washington

Fri., Nov. 2

Washington at California

Sat., Nov. 3

Arizona at UCLA

Arizona State at Oregon State

Oregon at USC

Stanford at Colorado

Washington State at Utah

Sat., Nov. 10

Colorado at Arizona

Arizona State at USC

UCLA at Washington State

Oregon at California

Oregon State at Stanford

Utah at Washington

Sat., Nov. 17

Arizona at Utah

Washington State at Arizona State


California at Oregon State

Stanford at Oregon

Washington at Colorado

Fri., Nov. 23

Arizona State at Arizona

Washington at Washington State

Utah at Colorado

Sat., Nov. 24

Notre Dame at USC

Stanford at UCLA

Oregon at Oregon State

Fri., Nov. 30

Pac-12 Football Championship Game

Neutral Sites

(1) Invesco Field, Denver, Colo.

(2) MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, N.J.

Note: All Washington home games will be played at CenturyLink Field, Seattle, Wash.