Considering the college coaching churn

When Jeff Tedford was fired after 11 seasons at California, the Pac-12 lost its coach with the longest continuous tenure.

And when Chip Kelly opted to leave Oregon for the Philadelphia Eagles on Wednesday, it meant the Pac-12 would have its seventh new coach since the end of the 2011 season.

Mike Riley is now the Pac-12's longest-tenured coach. He's been Oregon State's coach for 12 total seasons over two tenures, including 10 consecutive seasons. Kyle Whittingham has been at Utah for eight years.

After them? Washington's Steve Sarkisian, whose four years in Seattle give him the third spot.

Yes, college football coaches make good money. No, it's not the job you want if you're into security.

Here's the list.

Pac-12 Coaching tenure (seasons, first year)

Mike Riley, Oregon State (12, 1997 & 2003)

Kyle Whittingham, Utah (8, 2005)

Steve Sarkisian, Washington (4, 2009)

Lane Kiffin, USC, (3, 2010)

David Shaw, Stanford (2, 2011)

Rich Rodriguez, Arizona (1, 2012)

Mike Leach, Washington State (1, 2012)

Todd Graham, Arizona State (1, 2012)

Jim Mora, UCLA (1, 2012)

Sonny Dykes, California (0, 2013)

Mike MacIntyre, Colorado (0, 2013)

NEW COACH, Oregon (0, 2013)

Of course, the Pac-12 is far from alone. Here's an interesting look at coaching tenures before Kelly's became the 31st job out of 125 to turn over in the past year.

Some interesting notes:

  • Frank Beamer has coached Virginia Tech for 26 seasons. He is the nation's longest-tenured coach. Troy's Larry Blakeney is second with 22 seasons. Mack Brown is third with 15 seasons at Texas.

  • After just three seasons, Kiffin is the 53rd-longest tenured head coach.

  • The median hire date of a current FBS coach is Dec. 25, 2010, according to Patrick Steven's D1scourse.com blog.

  • In terms of continuous tenure, Riley is tied for 10th with Central Florida's George O'Leary. Whittingham is tied for 11th with South Carolina's Steve Spurrier, BYU's Bronco Mendenhall and Ohio's Frank Solich.