Colorado names its captains

The Colorado Buffaloes selected their 2013 captains on Thursday -- picking six players through two rounds of voting.

Seniors Jack Harris (offensive tackle), Chidera Uzo-Diribe (defensive end), Paul Vigo (linebacker) and Derrick Webb (linebacker), along with juniors Paul Richardson (wide receiver) and Connor Wood (quarterback) will serve as the Buffs' captains in the upcoming season.

Traditionally, Colorado has picked its captains in August. But new head coach Mike MacIntyre wanted to move up the process.

"We elected captains early this year so they could be leaders throughout the summer,” MacIntyre said in a statement. “We demand and expect a lot out of our leaders on this team, and I’m very excited about the six players selected by their teammates to serve as the captains.”

An initial vote was held June 2 and the field was narrowed to 10 finalists. The top six were so close that MacIntyre opted for six captains. A maximum of four players are allowed to walk out for the coin toss, so the players will rotate throughout the year.