Three Pac-10 players named Lombardi Award semifinalists

Posted by ESPN.com's Ted Miller

California center Alex Mack and USC linebackers Rey Maualuga and Brian Cushing joined nine other players as Lombardi Award semifinalists today.

According to the official Web site:

The Rotary Lombardi Award goes annually to the college football lineman or linebacker -- offense or defense -- who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.

Here are the non-Pac-10 players also named semifinalists.

  • Auston English, DE, University of Oklahoma

  • James Laurinaitis, LB, The Ohio State University

  • Michael Oher, OT, University of Mississippi

  • Brian Orakpo, DE, The University of Texas

  • Duke Robinson, OL, University of Oklahoma

  • George Selvie, DE, University of South Florida

  • Andre Smith, OL, University of Alabama

  • Brandon Spikes, LB, University of Florida

  • Sean Weatherspoon, LB, University of Missouri