USC safety Mays is Thorpe semifinalist

Posted by ESPN.com's Ted Miller

USC safety Taylor Mays was announced Tuesday as one of 13 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, which goes to the nation's best defensive back.

The semifinalist list will be narrowed to three finalists on Nov. 24, and the winner will be announced on the ESPNU College Football Awards Show, broadcast nationally on Dec. 11.

Here's the complete list of semifinalists:

  • Asher Allen, Jr., Georgia

  • Eric Berry, So., Tennessee

  • Emanuel Cook, Jr., So. Carolina

  • Vontae Davis, Jr., Illinois

  • Trimane Goddard, Sr., N. Carolina

  • Malcolm Jenkins, Sr., Ohio State

  • Trevard Lindley, Jr., Kentucky

  • Taylor Mays, Jr., USC

  • Mike Mickens, Sr., Cincinnati

  • D.J. Moore, Jr., Vanderbilt

  • William Moore, Sr., Missouri

  • Alphonso Smith, Sr., Wake Forest

  • Otis Wiley, Sr., Michigan State