Pac-10 players of the week

Arizona quarterback Nick Foles, UCLA linebacker Patrick Larimore and Arizona kick returner Travis Cobb have been named Pac-10 Players of the Week by the conference office.

Foles, a junior from Austin, Texas, led Arizona to a 34-27 upset of No. 9 Iowa. He completed 28 of 39 passes for 303 yards with two touchdowns and one interception. He engineered a nine-play, 72-yard game-winning drive in the fourth quarter after Iowa completed a 20-point rally to tie the game at 27-27 mid-way through the fourth quarter. On that drive, he was 5-of-6 for 76 yards, including a 4-yard scoring strike to junior receiver Bug Wright. It was the third time in his 13-game career as a starter that Foles led a game-winning drive when tied or trailing in the fourth quarter of a game.

Larimore, a sophomore from Santa Clarita, Calif., collected a career-high and team-high 11 tackles (10 solos), including three for loss, forced a fumble and broke up a pass in UCLA’s 31-13 win over No. 23 Houston. Houston entered the game averaging 576 yards of total offense, but were limited to 360 yards (108 rushing, 252 passing) by the Bruins.

Cobb, a senior from Rocky Mount, N.C., tallied 148 kick return yards on three returns, including a 100-yard return for touchdown. It was the second return for a score in his career. It was the longest by an Arizona player since Chris McAlister’s 100-yarder at Hawaii in 1998. Cobb’s 37.8 yards per return average ranks No. 5 in the nation.

Also nominated for offensive player of the week honors were running backs Shane Vereen of California, and Jacquizz Rodgers of Oregon State, quarterback Andrew Luck of Stanford, running backs Johnathan Franklin of UCLA and Allen Bradford of USC, and wide receiver Marquess Wilson of Washington State. Also nominated on defense were defensive end Brooks Reed of Arizona, linebackers Vontaze Burfict of Arizona State and D.J. Holt of California, defensive tackle Brandon Bair of Oregon, linebacker Dwight Roberson of Oregon State, cornerback Michael Thomas of Stanford, and defensive tackle Jurrell Casey of USC. Also nominated for special teams play were returner Omar Bolden of Arizona State, defensive back Brian Jackson of Oregon, wide receiver/returner James Rodgers of Oregon State, punter Jeff Locke of UCLA and wide receiver/returner Robert Woods of USC.