Four Pac-10 defenders on Lott list

Four Pac-10 players are among the 23 quarterfinalists for the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation announced Wednesday.

The four players are: UCLA linebacker Akeem Ayers, Arizona State defensive tackle Lawrence Guy, California linebacker Mike Mohamed and Oregon linebacker Casey Matthews.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its seventh year, the Lott is the first -- and only -- college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The Big 12 and the Big Ten have five players on the list, the SEC and ACC three each, the WAC two and one independent, Army.

The semifinalists will be announced Nov. 3 and the four finalists Nov. 24. Those four finalists will be flown to Newport Beach, Calif., for the annual black-tie banquet that will be televised by FOX.