BCS announces its contenders

Oregon, Stanford and Arizona are on the list of 11 teams still contending for berths in BCS bowl games, the BCS announced Tuesday.

First, there are the contenders for AQ conference titles.

ACC: Florida State, North Carolina State, Virginia Tech

Big East: Connecticut, Pittsburgh, Syracuse, West Virginia

Big Ten: Michigan State, Ohio State, Wisconsin

Big 12: Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M

Pac-10: Oregon, Stanford

SEC: Auburn, South Carolina

A seventh spot will be reserved for the top-rated team from a non-AQ conference: Boise State or TCU. That means there will be three at-large invitations this year.

In addition to the aforementioned teams, the pool of teams remaining under consideration also includes (in alphabetical order): Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Boise State, LSU, Nevada, Utah, and TCU.

The final BCS standings will be compiled Sunday, Dec. 5. The BCS bowl pairings will be announced at 8:15 p.m. EST that evening on ESPN.