Football Writers release national poll

The Football Writers Association (FWAA) 16-team preseason Grantland Rice Poll slots Oregon No. 3 and Stanford No. 7, just like the Associated Press.

Oklahoma is No. 1 and Alabama is No. 2, also just like the AP.

You can view the entire poll here.

The Sooners garnered seven first-place votes to Alabama’s five. LSU, Stanford and South Carolina each received one first-place vote.

The Grantland Rice Trophy, given to college football's national champion since 1954, is named in memory of the legendary sportswriter. It was the first national championship awarded presented after college football's postseason.

While the FWAA will not conduct a weekly poll this season, it will present the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week each Monday, as selected by a panel of select FWAA members.