Fast start for new Pac-12 coaches

There was an epidemic of coaching turnover last year, with 28 changes in FBS football. The Pac-12 was one of the leaders with four new coaches.

So how is everyone doing?

Well, none of the Pac-12's new coaches presently owns a losing record, though Washington State fans aren't terribly thrilled with Mike Leach at 2-2 after a loss to previously winless Colorado at home.

But only eight of the 28 new coaches presently own winning records, and three of those are from the Pac-12.

(Thanks to Arizona State for these numbers).

Winning records:

Ohio State (Urban Meyer): 4-0

Rutgers (Kyle Flood): 4-0

Arizona (Rich Rodriguez): 3-1

Arizona State (Todd Graham): 3-1

Mississippi (Hugh Freeze): 3-1

Toledo (Matt Campbell): 3-1

UCLA (Jim Mora): 3-1

Texas A&M (Kevin Sumlin): 2-1

Non-winning records

Fresno State (Tim DeRuyter): 2-2

Illinois (Tim Beckman): 2-2

New Mexico (Bob Davie): 2-2

North Carolina (Larry Fedora): 2-2

Penn State (Bill O'Brien): 2-2

Pittsburgh (Paul Chryst): 2-2

Washington State (Mike Leach): 2-2

Hawaii (Norm Chow): 1-2

Akron (Terry Bowden): 1-3

Arkansas (John L. Smith): 1-3

Arkansas State (Gus Malzahn): 1-3

Colorado State (Jim McElwain): 1-3

FAU (Carl Pellini): 1-3

Kansas (Charlie Weis): 1-3

Houston (Tony Levine): 0-3

Southern Miss (Ellis Johnson): 0-3

Tulane (Curtis Johnson): 0-3

UAB (Garrick McGee): 0-3

Massachusetts (Charley Molnar): 0-4

Memphis (Justin Fuente): 0-4