Finalists for Broyles Award announced

The five finalists for the Broyles Award, which is given annually to college football's top assistant coach, were announced Monday.

Two reasons you should care: 1. One was Stanford's defensive coordinator Derek Mason; 2. When you talk about potential hot coaching prospects, these five should be on your list.

The winner will be named on Dec. 4.

The finalists are:

Mike Bobo (Georgia -- offensive coordinator/quarterbacks)

Bob Diaco (Notre Dame -- defensive coordinator/linebackers/assistant head coach)

Kliff Kingsbury (Texas A&M -- offensive coordinator/quarterbacks)

Derek Mason (Stanford -- co-defensive coordinator/associate head coach)

Dan Quinn (Florida -- defensive coordinator/defensive line)