Eight Pac-10 defenders on Lott Award watch list

Eight Pac-10 defenders are on the watch list for the 2010 Lott Award, which is named after former USC All-American Ronnie Lott.

The award is unique, the release says, "because it represents the first trophy to give equal weight to personal character as well as athletic performance from a defensive college player."

The winner, announced in December, receives $25,000 for his school’s general scholarship fund. Three runner-ups each receive $5,000.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, members of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors, the Legends Coaches and distinguished alumni of various schools around the nation.

Pac-10 players on the list are:

Akeem Ayers, LB, UCLA

Tom Keiser, LB, Stanford

Casey Matthews, LB, Oregon

Mike Mohamed, LB, California

Stephen Paea, DT, Oregon State

Kenny Rowe, DE, Oregon

Malcolm Smith, LB, USC

Rahim Moore, S, UCLA