Paea, Smith win Morris Trophy

USC offensive tackle Tyron Smith and Oregon State defensive tackle Stephen Paea have been named winners of the 31st annual Morris Trophy, the Pac-10 announced Monday.

The Morris Trophy is given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pac-10. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa.

So the guys who faced Smith and Paea think they are the best, and you'd think they'd have a pretty good idea. Paea won the vote for a second consecutive year.

Smith, a 6-foot-5, 280-pound junior from Moreno Valley, Calif., was named a first-team All-Pac-10 performer in voting by the Pac-10 head coaches. He is a two-year starter for the Trojans. USC linemen have earned the offensive side of the Morris Trophy 11 times in 31 years.

Smith has already said he will enter the NFL draft this spring.

Paea, a 6-foot-1, 311-pound senior from Los Altos, Calif., also received the 2010 Pac-10 Conference Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year honor as selected by the conference head coaches. He finished the season with 45 tackles, including 10 tackles for loss and six quarterback sacks. He also caused four fumbles during the season and is the new Oregon State record-holder for career forced fumbles with nine. Paea, a consensus 2010 All-America selection, joins three former Pac-10 defensive players as two-time recipients of the Morris Trophy (Arizona’s Dana Wells 1987-88; Washington’s Steve Emtman, 1990-91; USC’s Sedrick Ellis 2006-07).