Rodgers, Gerhart are Doak Walker semifinalists

Posted by ESPN.com's Ted Miller

Stanford's Toby Gerhart and Oregon State's Jacquizz Rodgers are among the 10 semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award, which is given annually to the nation's best running back.

Three finalists for the award will be named on Nov. 23, and a second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The winner will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Dec. 10.

The award is named after three-time SMU All-American running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker.

Besides Gerhart and Rodgers, the other semifinalists are (in alphabetical order): Donald Buckram of UTEP, Jonathan Dwyer of Georgia Tech, Mark Ingram of Alabama, Dion Lewis of Pitt, Ryan Mathews of Fresno State, C.J. Spiller of Clemson, Ben Tate of Auburn and Ryan Williams of Virginia Tech.