Luck, James are Maxwell semifinalists

Stanford QB Andrew Luck and Oregon RB LaMichael James have been selected as two of the 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, which is given annually to the national player of the year.

You can see the complete list here.

The winners of the 74th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9. Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 22 and a second round of voting will take place at that time.