Eight from Pac-12 on Thorpe watch list

The award watch list roll-out continues today (and will continue through next week) with the announcement of the Jim Thorpe Award watch list. The Thorpe Award is given to the nation's top defensive back.

There are 48 players on the watch list, and eight hail from the Pac-12. That matches the high with eight from the Big 12 and eight from the Big Ten.

Here are the Pac-12 players:

The two-week roll out continues next week with the following watch lists being announced:

Monday: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tuesday: Biletnikoff Award

Wednesday: Davey O’Brien Award

Thursday: Doak Walker Award

Friday: Walter Camp Award

I'm guessing the Biletnikoff folks won't forget to include USC receiver Marqise Lee (last year's winner) on this year's preseason watch list -- a mistake that was quickly remedied last year.