Moore, Harris are Thorpe semifinalists

Two Pac-10 defensive backs -- UCLA safety Rahim Moore and Oregon cornerback Cliff Harris -- are semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, given annually to the nation's best defensive back.

In an interesting twist, Harris has only started the past two games for Oregon due to an injury to Anthony Gildon. Nonetheless, Harris is first in the Pac-10 and tied for fourth in the nation with five interceptions.

The announcement of the Thorpe Award winner will be featured on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit, will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

The 2010 Thorpe semifinalists are:

Prince Amukamara, Sr., Nebraska

Mark Barron, Jr., Alabama

Chimdi Chekwa, Sr., Ohio State

Brandon Harris, Jr., Miami (Fla.)

Cliff Harris, Soph., Oregon

Tejay Johnson, Sr., TCU

Joe Lefeged, Sr., Rutgers

Rahim Moore, Jr., UCLA

Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU

Tyler Sash, Jr., Iowa