Soccer-Spanish players dominate FIFA World Player list

By Mark Ledsom

BERNE, Oct 29 - Euro 2008 champions Spain provided
six of the contenders on Wednesday when FIFA announced a list of
23 nominations for their World Player of the Year award.

Goalkeeper Iker Casillas, midfielders Cesc Fabregas, Andres
Iniesta and Xavi and strikers David Villa and Fernando Torres
all made the list published by world soccer's governing body.

Last year's winner, Brazilian playmaker Kaka, is again in
the running along with Portugal winger Cristiano Ronaldo, whose
goals played a major role in Manchester United's Premier League
and Champions League double.

The list, drawn up by FIFA's football committee, will now be
voted on by national team coaches and captains, with the top
three announced in December.

The winner will be announced at FIFA's World Player Gala in
Zurich on Jan. 12.

(Editing by Tony Jimenez)