'Madden' Cover Vote: AFC West

Will Shane Lechler be the first punter to cover "Madden"? It could happen. Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

Thanks to the overwhelming success of last year's "Madden" cover vote (even if it did mean Peyton Hillis was cursed), EA Sports and ESPN are back once again to let the fans speak up and decide who belongs on the front of the "Madden NFL 13" box.

And while last year's vote kicked off with 32 participants, this year, we decided to take things up a notch and offer a teammate versus teammate play-in round, upping the number of players involved this year to 64.

So let's start things off with the AFC West, a division where we could end up seeing anyone from Tim Tebow to Shane Lechler on the cover.

And remember, nobody predicted a win for Hillis last year, so I wouldn't be surprised by anybody winning this year, even a punter.

That's the beauty (and beast) of a fan vote.

You just never know what's going to happen.

Anyway, here are the entrants for the AFC West:

  • Denver Broncos: Tim Tebow versus Von Miller

  • Kansas City Chiefs: Dwayne Bowe versus Derrick Johnson

  • Oakland Raiders: Shane Lechler versus Sebastian Janikowski

  • San Diego Chargers: Philip Rivers versus Antonio Gates

    Voting begins March 7. For more information, check out the official SportsNation cover vote site.