San Francisco 49ers Hall of Fame primer

The San Francisco 49ers will be well represented Saturday during the Pro Football Hall of Fame vote. Defensive end/linebacker Charles Haley and former owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr. are among the 17 finalists.

Four to seven new members will be inducted. Here is a look at both DeBartolo and Haley’s candidacy, with help from ESPN Stats & Information.


  • Owned 49ers from 1977-2000.

  • Age: 67

  • The 49ers made 16 playoff appearances, 10 NFC title game appearances and won five Super Bowls while DeBartolo was owner.

  • The 49ers had an NFL-best .622 win percentage during DeBartolo’s tenure.

  • There are 13 former owners who are in the Hall of Fame.


  • Played for 49ers from 1986-91, 1999.

  • Age: 50

  • In his 10th year of eligibility.

  • Selected by 49ers in fourth round (96th player overall) in 1986 draft.

  • Won five Super Bowls with 49ers and Cowboys. Only player ever to win five Super Bowl rings.

  • Has 4.5 career sacks in Super Bowl, most in NFL history.

  • Led 49ers in sacks in each of first six seasons.

  • Finished career with 100.5 sacks.

  • Twice named NFC Defensive Player of the Year (1990, 1994).

  • Five-time Pro Bowl selection.

  • Was part of 10 division winners in 12 NFL seasons.

*Linebacker Kevin Greene is also a finalist. He spent one season with the 49ers in 1997.