Pete Carroll wins Jack Horrigan Award

RENTON, Wash. -- Seattle Seahawks coach Pete Carroll became the second member of the organization to be honored this week for their cooperation with the media when he won the Jack Horrigan Award Thursday from the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

The Horrigan award is given each year to a NFL or team official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job.

Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson won the PFWA Good Guy Award on Tuesday, which is given annually to a NFL player who does the most to help the pro football writers.

Carroll is the second Seattle coach to win the Horrigan Award. Mike Holmgren won it in 2008. Carroll is the first head coach to win the award since 2011 when New York Jets’ coach Rex Ryan won it.