Coaches preseason All-SEC team

The coaches’ preseason All-SEC team has been released, and defending national champion Alabama leads the way with six players on the first team.

Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram was a first-team selection at running back along with Julio Jones at receiver, guard Barrett Jones on the offensive line, end Marcell Dareus on the defensive line, Dont’a Hightower at linebacker and safety Mark Barron in the secondary.

The Crimson Tide also had three second-team selections – quarterback Greg McElroy, running back Trent Richardson and offensive tackle James Carpenter.

Counting both the first and second teams, Florida had the most selections with 10, including three first-team players.

There are five first-team selections that were also on last year’s first-team coaches' All-SEC postseason team. Those include: center Mike Pouncey (Florida), receiver A.J. Green (Georgia), running back Mark Ingram (Alabama), defensive back Mark Barron (Alabama) and punter Drew Butler (Georgia).

Right off the bat, I can see two glaring omissions. Georgia outside linebacker Justin Houston and Ole Miss defensive end Kentrell Lockett didn’t make either the first or second team. Between them, they had 25 tackles for loss, including 12.5 sacks, last season.

Here’s a look at the entire first and second teams (ties were not broken, which is why some positions have more players):

(* - Tie)



QB -- Ryan Mallett, Jr., Arkansas

RB -- Mark Ingram, Jr., Alabama

RB -- Derrick Locke, Sr., Kentucky

WR -- A.J. Green, Jr., Georgia

WR -- Julio Jones, Jr., Alabama

TE -- D.J. Williams, Sr., Arkansas

OL -- Clint Boling, Sr., Georgia

OL -- Carl Johnson, Sr., Florida

OL -- Barrett Jones, So., Alabama

OL -- Lee Ziemba, Sr., Auburn

C -- Mike Pouncey, Sr., Florida


DL -- Marcell Dareus, Jr., Alabama

DL -- Jerrell Powe, Sr., Ole Miss

DL -- Cliff Matthews, Sr., South Carolina

LB -- Josh Bynes, Sr., Auburn

LB -- Dont’a Hightower, So., Alabama

LB -- Chris Marve, Jr., Vanderbilt

LB -- Kelvin Sheppard, Sr., LSU

DB -- Mark Barron, Jr., Alabama

DB -- Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU

DB -- Stephon Gilmore, So., South Carolina

DB -- Janoris Jenkins, Jr., Florida

Special Teams

PK -- Blair Walsh, Jr., Georgia

P -- Drew Butler, Jr., Georgia

RS -- Warren Norman, So., Vanderbilt

AP -- Randall Cobb, Jr., Kentucky



QB -- Greg McElroy, Sr., Alabama

RB -- Jeff Demps, Jr., Florida

RB -- Trent Richardson, So., Alabama

WR -- Darvin Adams, Jr., Auburn

WR -- Alshon Jeffery, So., South Carolina

TE -- Luke Stocker, Sr., Tennessee

OL -- James Carpenter, Sr., Alabama

OL -- DeMarcus Love, Sr., Arkansas

OL -- Derek Sherrod, Sr., Miss. State

OL -- *Cordy Glenn, Jr., Georgia

OL -- *Joseph Barksdale, Sr., LSU

C -- Ryan Pugh, Sr., Auburn


DL -- Pernell McPhee, Sr., Miss. State

DL -- Drake Nevis, Sr., LSU

DL -- *DeQuin Evans, Sr., Kentucky

DL -- *Chris Walker, Sr., Tennessee

DL -- * Ladi Ajiboye, Sr., South Carolina

LB -- Jerry Franklin, Jr., Arkansas

LB -- A.J. Jones, Sr., Florida

LB -- Craig Stevens, Sr., Auburn

LB -- K.J. Wright, Sr., Miss. State

DB -- Ahmad Black, Sr., Florida

DB -- Chris Culliver, Sr., South Carolina

DB -- Will Hill, Jr., Florida

DB -- Neiko Thorpe, Jr., Auburn

Special Teams

PK -- Caleb Sturgis, Jr., Florida

P -- Chas Henry, Jr., Florida

RS -- Brandon Boykin, Jr., Georgia

AP -- Chris Rainey, Jr., Florida


Alabama: 9

Arkansas: 4

Auburn: 6

Florida: 10

Georgia: 6

Kentucky: 3

LSU: 4

Ole Miss: 1

Miss. State: 3

South Carolina: 5

Tennessee: 2

Vanderbilt: 2