Five SEC kickers on Groza list

Five of the SEC's 12 place-kickers have been named to the watch list for the 2010 Lou Groza Award, which goes annually to the top place-kicker in college football.

Making the list were:

  • Wes Byrum, Auburn

  • Josh Jasper, LSU

  • Spencer Lanning, South Carolina

  • Caleb Sturgis, Florida

  • Blair Walsh, Georgia

Picking the first-team All-SEC place-kicker this season could be a chore. Among them, Byrum, Jasper, Lanning and Walsh missed just nine field goals a year ago. Sturgis misfired on eight, but was 6-of-9 beyond 40 yards and hit a 56-yarder against Georgia, the longest field goal in the SEC last season.