Ole Miss selects team captains

Ole Miss announced its team captains Sunday night, and it's obvious that the bulk of leadership on this team is on the defensive side.

Four of the five captains, selected by their teammates, are defensive players -- safety Johnny Brown, linebacker Jonathan Cornell, end Kentrell Lockett and nose tackle Jerrell Powe. Receiver Lionel Breaux was the lone offensive player selected.

"They’re the heart and soul of the team, they’re our backbone,” Ole Miss coach Houston Nutt said. "They’ve led our team since January. They led in every way, as far as the weight room, classroom, locker room and then on the field."