Six SEC players nominated as top scholars

Six SEC players have been selected as semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, college football's premier scholar-athlete award.

Making the list were South Carolina offensive guard Garrett Chisolm, Georgia receiver Kris Durham, Tennessee kicker Daniel Lincoln, Alabama quarterback Greg McElroy, Mississippi State offensive tackle Derek Sherrod and Vanderbilt linebacker John Stokes.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

The award was formerly known as the Draddy Trophy and has been referred to as the Academic Heisman. Florida's Tim Tebow was the recipient last year.