LSU's Peterson makes Lott Trophy cut

LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson is one of eight semifinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy, named in honor of Pro Football Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, goes annually to the college football defensive player who has the biggest IMPACT for his team on and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Peterson is seeking to become LSU’s second Lott IMPACT Trophy winner, joining All-America defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey who claimed the award in 2007. Peterson is also a semifinalist for the Thorpe Award and the Bednarik Award.

Here's a complete list of the Lott IMPACT Trophy semifinalists:

  • Texas defensive lineman Sam Acho

  • Nebraska cornerback Prince Amukumara

  • Oklahoma defensive back Quinton Carter

  • Purdue defensive lineman Ryan Kerrigan

  • Oregon linebacker Casey Matthews

  • Boise State safety Jeron Johnson

  • LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson

  • Wisconsin defensive end J.J. Watt