Hogs' D.J. Williams wins Mackey Award

Arkansas' D.J. Williams was named Thursday as the recipient of the 2010 John Mackey Award, which is presented annually to the top tight end in college football.

Williams is the Hogs' first winner of the Mackey Award. He leads Arkansas with 49 catches and has totaled 589 receiving yards and four touchdowns this season. He's also the active NCAA career leader in catches (147) and receiving yards (1,817).

The John Mackey Award lists nine NFL players as alumni, including Dallas Clark, Kellen Winslow II, Heath Miller and Aaron Hernandez.

Williams, a senior, was also honored with the Disney Spirit Award as college football's most inspirational player.