Burlsworth, Thomas on Hall of Fame ballot

The late Brandon Burlsworth, one of the stars on Houston Nutt's first team at Arkansas in 1998, is one of several SEC coaches and players on the 2011 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Burlsworth, an offensive guard for the Hogs, died in a car wreck in 1999 just weeks after being picked in the third round of the NFL draft by the Indianapolis Colts. This is the first year that Burlsworth has been on the ballot. He started his career as a walk-on, but wound up earning a scholarship and was a second-team All-America selection by the Associated Press as a senior.

The late Derrick Thomas, who owns the Alabama career record with 52 sacks, is also on the ballot for the first time. Thomas played at Alabama from 1985-88 and was a first-team All-America selection as a senior. He died of a massive blood clot in 2000, but was elected posthumously to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2009. Thomas, a linebacker, was one of the most feared pass-rushers of his time with the Kansas City Chiefs.

Other first-time ballot members with SEC ties include Florida receiver Carlos Alvarez (1969-71) and Alabama defensive tackle Marty Lyons (1975-78).

Here's a link to the complete list of coaches and players on this year's ballot.