Four SEC players on Walter Camp watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Chris Low

Four SEC players were named to the watch list for the 2009 Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year Award.

Making the list of 30 were Tennessee safety Eric Berry, Ole Miss quarterback Jevan Snead, Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow.

The recipient is voted on by the 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. The winner will be announced on Dec. 10 (Thursday) at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national award banquet on Jan. 18, 2010, (Sunday) at Yale University.

As a self-serving footnote, the four players who made the cut were the top four players on my countdown this spring of the SEC's 30 best players.

Here's the entire 2009 watch list: