SEC players everywhere on Nagurski list

Posted by ESPN.com's Chris Low

Want proof of how much defensive talent there is in the SEC?

Check out the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, which includes 17 SEC players. The award is presented annually to the nation's best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Alabama, Florida and Georgia each have three players on the list.

Representing the Crimson Tide were nose guard Terrence Cody, linebacker Rolando McClain and cornerback Javier Arenas. The Gators making the cut were defensive end Carlos Dunlap, linebacker Brandon Spikes and cornerback Joe Haden. The Bulldogs nominated were defensive tackles Geno Atkins and Jeff Owens and linebacker Rennie Curran.

Kentucky had two players -- linebacker Micah Johnson and cornerback Trevard Lindley.

Rounding out the list of SEC representatives were Arkansas defensive tackle Malcolm Sheppard, South Carolina outside linebacker Eric Norwood, Auburn defensive end Antonio Coleman, Ole Miss defensive end Greg Hardy, Vanderbilt cornerback Myron Lewis and Tennessee safety Eric Berry.