Five from Alabama on Nagurski list

Alabama leads all schools nationally with five players on the 2011 Bronko Nagurski watch list, which was released Friday.

Awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player, the Bronko Nagurksi Award has 87 players on its preseason watch list this year. Making it from Alabama were safety Mark Barron, linebacker Dont'a Hightower, cornerback Dre Kirkpatrick, safety Robert Lester and linebacker Courtney Upshaw.

The SEC led the way with 19 players selected. The ACC was second with 14, and the Big Ten had 10. Clemson defensive end Da'Quan Bowers was the 2010 winner.

Here's a complete rundown of the SEC players making the list:

  • S Mark Barron, Alabama

  • DE Jake Bequette, Arkansas

  • CB Brandon Boykin, Georgia

  • CB Morris Claiborne, LSU

  • DT Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State

  • LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas

  • CB Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina

  • CB Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt

  • LB Dont'a Hightower, Alabama

  • DT Jaye Howard, Florida

  • DT Malik Jackson, Tennessee

  • CB Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama

  • S Robert Lester, Alabama

  • LB Chris Marve, Vanderbilt

  • S Charles Mitchell, Mississippi State

  • DE Devin Taylor, South Carolina

  • LB Danny Trevathan, Kentucky

  • LB Courtney Upshaw, Alabama

  • S Prentiss Waggner, Tennessee