Checking out Lombardi and Rimington lists

The fall watch list craze is in full swing and the SEC is getting a ton of love on each one that comes out.

Tuesday, the Rotary Lombardi Award watch list came out, with 16 SEC players making the list. The award is given annually to college football's best lineman. Eligibility for the award is limited to "down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, and linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage."

The high number of SEC contenders is a testament to the strength of the lines in this league. Many coaches outside of the SEC have repeatedly said that the main difference between the SEC and the rest of the country is the strength of the lines. The battles in the trenches are so key in the SEC.

The SEC has won the award twice in the last four years, with Auburn's Nick Fairley taking it home last year.

Alabama had the most representatives from the SEC with four -- Dont'a Hightower, Barrett Jones, Courtney Upshaw and William Vlachos. Arkansas was right behind the Tide with three players -- Alvin Bailey, Jake Bequette and Jerry Franklin.

Here is the complete list of SEC players on the Lombardi watch list:

  • OG Alvin Bailey, Arkansas

  • DE Jake Bequette, Arkansas

  • LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas

  • OT Cordy Glenn, Georgia

  • LB Dont’a Hightower, Alabama

  • DT Jaye Howard, Florida

  • DT Malik Jackson, Tennessee

  • OL Barrett Jones, Alabama

  • C Ben Jones, Georgia

  • OL Quentin Saulsberry, Mississippi State

  • OT Bradley Sowell, Ole Miss

  • DE Devin Taylor, South Carolina

  • LB Danny Trevathan, Kentucky

  • LB Courtney Upshaw, Alabama

  • C William Vlachos, Alabama

  • OG Larry Warford, Kentucky

Today, the Rimington Trophy watch list was announced. The award is given annually to the nation's best center and the SEC had the most candidates on the list with seven. The Big Ten checked in second with six players.

Here are the SEC representatives:

  • A.J. Hawkins, Ole Miss

  • T.J. Johnson, South Carolina

  • Ben Jones, Georgia

  • P.J. Lonergan, LSU

  • Matt Smith, Kentucky

  • Travis Swanson, Arkansas

  • William Vlachos, Alabama