Mathieu, Richardson finalists for Camp

Alabama running back Trent Richardson and LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu are two of five finalists for the 2011 Walter Camp Award, which is presented annually to the player of the year in college football.

The other three finalists are Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III and Houston quarterback Case Keenum.

The Walter Camp Award is voted on by coaches and sports information directors and will be presented on Dec. 8.

Former Auburn quarterback Cam Newton won the award last year.