Four from SEC up for coaching award

Four SEC coaches are finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award.

Making the list of 10 finalists were LSU’s Les Miles, Arkansas’ Bobby Petrino, Georgia’s Mark Richt and Alabama’s Nick Saban.

All four coaches won at least 10 games this season. Miles’ Tigers will meet Saban’s Crimson Tide on Jan. 9 in New Orleans for the BCS national championship.

The Liberty Mutual award celebrates coaches for their sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence and for giving back to their teams, schools and communities on and off the field. The winner of the award will be announced on Jan 9.

Fans can visit CoachoftheYear.com between Dec. 6 and Dec. 22 to vote for their favorite coach. Fan voting, along with committees from the College Football Hall of Fame and college football national media, are used to determine the winner.

Here's a complete list of the 10 finalists:

  • Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State

  • Brady Hoke, Michigan

  • Mark Hudspeth, Louisiana-Lafayette

  • Mike London, Virginia

  • Les Miles, LSU

  • Bobby Petrino, Arkansas

  • Mark Richt, Georgia

  • Nick Saban, Alabama

  • Bill Snyder, Kansas State

  • Dabo Swinney, Clemson