How much talent did Muschamp inherit?

Somebody asked recently about the correlation between postseason All-SEC selections and top 10 recruiting classes.

The results from the last two years are pretty interesting.

Take Florida, for instance.

The perception when Will Muschamp took over for Urban Meyer prior to this season was that Meyer had recruited like gangbusters and left a roster full of talent.

After all, Meyer’s last recruiting class at Florida in 2010 was ranked as the consensus No. 1 class in the country and was hailed by some analysts as the most talented class ever. Meyer’s next-to-last class in 2009 was ranked No. 5 nationally.

Those star-studded classes haven’t translated onto the field, however.

The Gators this season had just one position player, all-purpose player Chris Rainey, to be selected first or second team All-SEC by the coaches.

For perspective, Vanderbilt had four players selected first or second team this season, while Kentucky had three.

And if you look at the last two coaches' All-SEC teams, the only school that had fewer position players selected first or second team than Florida was Ole Miss, which has lost 14 straight league games.

The Rebels’ lone selection over the last two years was defensive lineman Jerrell Powe, who was second team in 2010.

The Gators have had just three offensive or defensive players to earn first or second-team honors over the last two years. In addition to Rainey this season, safety Ahmad Black was a first-team selection in 2010 and cornerback Janoris Jenkins was a second-team selection in 2010.

Black exhausted his eligibility after the 2010 season, and Jenkins was kicked off the team following multiple drug arrests.

Here’s a look at the number of each school’s first- and second-team All-SEC selections by the coaches (offensive and defensive players) over the last two years:

  • Alabama – 21

  • LSU – 14

  • Arkansas – 12

  • Georgia – 10

  • South Carolina -- 10

  • Auburn – 9

  • Kentucky – 6

  • Vanderbilt – 6

  • Mississippi State – 4

  • Florida – 3

  • Tennessee – 3

  • Ole Miss – 1