Fulmer, Wuerffel on Hall of Fame ballot

The 2012 College Hall of Fame ballot has been released, and former Tennessee coach Phillip Fulmer and former Florida Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel are on the ballot for the first time.

Both are strong candidates to be selected when the 2012 class is announced in May. The induction ceremonies will be held in New York City in December.

Fulmer had a 152-52 (.745) record from 1992-2008 at Tennessee. He led the Vols to SEC championships in 1997 and 1998, marking the last time a team has won SEC championships in back-to-back seasons. The Vols also went 13-0 in 1998 to win the national championship.

Wuerffel led the Gators to the national title in 1996 and also won the Heisman Trophy that season. He set an SEC record with 114 career touchdown passes.

Here's a look at the other players on the 2012 ballot with SEC ties:

  • Charles Alexander, RB, LSU, 1975-78

  • Paul Crane, C/LB, Alabama, 1963-65

  • Willie Gault, WR/RS, Tennessee, 1979-82

  • Bobby Humphrey, RB, Alabama, 1985-88

  • Bobby Majors, DB/RS, Tennessee, 1969-71

  • Paul Naumoff, LB, Tennessee, 1964-66

  • Matt Stinchcomb, OT, Georgia, 1995-98

  • Derrick Thomas, LB, 1985-88

  • Wesley Walls, TE, Ole Miss, 1985-88

  • Scott Woerner, DB, Georgia, 1977-80