Recapping Auburn's spring game

Auburn’s annual A-Day spring game Saturday at Jordan-Hare Stadium before a crowd of 43,427 was an offense versus defense scrimmage, and the offense wound up winning 36-27 based on a scoring format devised by the coaches.

The offense received points for touchdowns, field goals, plays of 15 yards or longer and consecutive first downs. The defense received points for touchdowns, turnovers, sacks and three-and-outs.

Auburn coach Gene Chizik downplayed the stats from the game, but sophomore quarterback Kiehl Frazier was named the offensive MVP, defensive end Dee Ford the defensive MVP and punter Steven Clark the special teams MVP.

The Auburn coaches were generally pleased with the way the Tigers ran the ball, and fullback Jay Prosch has been a huge addition to the running game. Prosch transferred in from Illinois and has been a one-man bulldozer in the way he’s cleared running lanes for the Auburn running backs.

The most impressive drive of the scrimmage came with Frazier at quarterback, and it covered 80 yards in 11 plays and consumed more than seven minutes. Corey Grant capped the drive with a 3-yard touchdown run.

Frazier finished 7-of-9 for 92 yards and showed off his ability to scramble around and make plays. Still, Chizik said the quarterback competition would extend into the summer. Clint Moseley was plagued by a sore throwing shoulder for much of the spring.

“We’re not ready to pull the trigger (on a decision) any time soon that I see,” Chizik said.

The best news for the defense was that it generated consistent pressure, led by Ford and LaDarius Owens. The Auburn defensive ends combined to produce five sacks.

"We have a couple of guys that have really stepped forward in rushing the passer. They're going to be difficult to block in certain situations off the edge," Chizik said.

You can get stats, photos and quotes from Auburn's spring game by going here.

Prior to the game, Auburn unveiled statues of its three Heisman Trophy winners -- Bo Jackson, Cam Newton and Pat Sullivan.