Team Georgia Tech repeats as champions

Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech successfully defended their Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge golf championship on Tuesday with a one stroke victory over the field to take home the $125,000 first-place scholarship prize.

Johnson and Barry finished at 10-under-par.

The top SEC team in the field was Mississippi State's Dan Mullen and Fred McCrary, who finished in a tie for fourth with Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer and Dell Curry. They finished at 8-under.

Alabama's Nick Saban and Johnny Mussa tied for sixth with Ohio State's Urban Meyer and Jeff Logan at 7-under.

The Ole Miss team of Hugh Freeze and Sean Tuohy, the South Carolina team of Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe and the Tennessee team of Derek Dooley and Stanley Morgan finished in a five-way tie for eighth place with two other teams. They shot 6-under.