Five SEC QBs up for Manning Award

Five SEC quarterbacks are on the preseason watch list for the 2012 Manning Award, which was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It's the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

The SEC quarterbacks making the list: Tennessee's Tyler Bray, Missouri's James Franklin, Alabama's AJ McCarron, Georgia's Aaron Murray and Arkansas' Tyler Wilson.

The overall watch list will include 25 of the top quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2012 season. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.