The SEC's best 25 players: No. 3

The top quarterback in the SEC checks in at No. 3 in our countdown.

No. 3: Tyler Wilson, QB, Arkansas, Sr.

2011 summary: Wilson became the first Arkansas quarterback in history to be named first-team All-SEC quarterback. He was selected first team by both the Associated Press and the coaches after leading the SEC with 3,638 passing yards. He finished with 24 touchdown passes and only six interceptions. Wilson was a finalist for the Manning Award and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

Most recent ranking: Ranked No. 17 in the 2011 postseason countdown.

Making the case for Wilson: One of the top quarterbacks in college football, Wilson thought about turning pro following last season. Some analysts had him going in the first round, but he felt like he needed another year of college football and also had unfinished business at Arkansas. Wilson has emerged as one of the unquestioned leaders for the Hogs, and was instrumental in keeping everybody focused following the Bobby Petrino scandal this spring. On the field, he's also the heartbeat of the team and should be even better during his second full season as the starter. He's extremely accurate and doesn't throw a lot of interceptions. Yet, he's also very good at squeezing the ball into tight spots and scrambling around and making plays. Wilson loses two of his top receivers this season in Jarius Wright and Joe Hamilton, but he's the kind of quarterback that makes everybody around him look better. The Hogs' passing game will be as potent as ever, and don't be surprised if Wilson makes a run at 4,000 yards.

The Rundown

  • No. 25: Matt Elam, S, Florida, Jr.

  • No. 24: Da'Rick Rogers, WR, Tennessee, Jr.

  • No. 23: Sean Porter, LB, Texas A&M, Sr.

  • No. 22: Dee Milliner, CB, Alabama, Jr.

  • No. 21: Alec Ogletree, LB, Georgia, Jr.

  • No. 20: Luke Joeckel, OT, Texas A&M, Jr.

  • No. 19: Tyler Bray, QB, Tennessee, Jr.

  • No. 18: Jesse Williams, NG, Alabama, Sr.

  • No. 17: Bennie Logan, DT, LSU, Jr.

  • No. 16: Justin Hunter, WR, Tennessee, Jr.

  • No. 15: Cobi Hamilton, WR, Arkansas, Sr.

  • No. 14: Chris Faulk, OT, LSU, Jr.

  • No. 13: Corey Lemonier, DE, Auburn, Jr.

  • No. 12: Eric Reid, S, LSU, Jr.

  • No. 11: Johnthan Banks, CB, Mississippi State, Sr.

  • No. 10: Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia, Jr.

  • No. 9: Chance Warmack, OG, Alabama, Sr.

  • No. 8: Barkevious Mingo, DE, LSU, Jr.

  • No. 7: Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina, So.

  • No. 6: Sam Montgomery, DE, LSU, Jr.

  • No. 5: Barrett Jones, C, Alabama, Sr.

  • No. 4: Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas, Jr.