Arenas, Berry, Haden make Thorpe Award cut

Posted by ESPN.com's Chris Low

Alabama cornerback Javier Arenas, Tennessee safety Eric Berry and Florida cornerback Joe Haden are among the 12 semifinalists for the Thorpe Award, which goes annually to the nation's best defensive back.

The list will be narrowed again on Nov. 23 to three finalists who will be invited to the nationally televised Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10. The winner will be announced on the show, and the official presentation will be at a formal banquet in Oklahoma City on Feb. 9, 2010.

Berry was a finalist last year. The 2008 award was won by Ohio State's Malcolm Jenkins.

It's no secret that the SEC is loaded with talented defensive backs. LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson, Florida cornerback Janoris Jenkins and Vanderbilt cornerback Myron Lewis could also make claims to be among the semifinalists.

Here's the entire list:

  • Javier Arenas, Sr., Alabama

  • Eric Berry, Jr., Tennessee

  • Barry Church, Sr., Toledo

  • Perrish Cox, Sr., Oklahoma State

  • Joe Haden, Jr., Florida

  • Brandon Harris, So., Miami (FL)

  • Taylor Mays, Sr., USC

  • Tyler Sash, So., Iowa

  • Darrell Stuckey, Sr., Kansas

  • Earl Thomas, So., Texas

  • Alterraun Verner, Sr., UCLA

  • Kyle Wilson, Sr., Boise State